Today was a sewing day for me. Even in my RV, I have room for my sewing machine, tools, and material. I store my sewing machine on top of the kitchen cabinets and the rest fits under the dinette benches. Whenever I need to sew, I just clear and clean the dinette table and get to work.

This table gets used for so many things-eating, writing, crafts, and sewing!

Since I have lost 15 lbs, I needed to trim up some of my clothes instead of going out and buying more. In the last couple days, I have trimmed up 3 shirts, pleated my jean skirt, and shortened the straps on one of my dresses. Here is how I trim up my bigger shirts:

This is the shirt before I did anything. 

I start out by putting the shirt inside out on the table. I lay a shirt, that fits me, on top of it and mark where I plan to sew. Then I sew on the line. 

I did not sew across this line because I have to cut, and hem all the way around the bottom of the shirt.
Same with the sleeves, I have to cut and hem them. Then I trim the excess off about a quarter inch from the sewn part.
Here is the after of the shirt. It is not perfect, by any means, but it is just a shirt I wear to work around the house in.

My a-line skirt works a little different. I lay it inside out and pleat right down the middle of panels in the skirt.  I did two pleats in the front. When I lose more weight, I can put two more pleats in the back.

This picture is the skirt inside out and showing the pleats in the skirt. I did not trim the extra off due to the fact that nice, used skirts are hard to find. If I ever get pregnant again, I want to be able to take out the pleats as I gain weight. Jean skirts last for many years. I wear out my shirts a lot quicker!

The smaller panels just look like part of the design of the skirt. 

I also worked on some pants of my 8 year old. He had a pair of shorts that were too big. I pleated them in but they did not turn out as nice as the skirt. I am new to pleating for boys. He had three pants with a hole in the left knee. One nicer pair, I turned inside out, sewn the hole shut, and trimmed off the excess. They will work as play pants just fine. The other two I cut into shorts and hemmed the bottoms up.

I can’t believe these used to be rough looking pants. Now they look great!

Hopefully you got some good hemming and trimming tips today. What clothes have you worked on? Don’t forget to follow my blog to keep up with my journey!

2 thoughts on “Minimalism in an RV: Mending Clothes to Stretch Your Budget

  1. I would’ve never thought to bring sewing machine in an RV, but when you put it that way, it makes a lot of sense. There’s always some sort of project that needs to be done and you might as well be able to do it yourself! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

